09
Apr
09

Guest Blogger: Jon Lev

Stranger Than Paradise

 

What is going on here in this house now?

You are working on nine things at once, the house is a mess with papers, paintings, paint, metal, dolls, ….junk all over the place….hearing your question, “What bothers you about this?” a million times, swearing at the computer, helping support Jay’s retirement account, packages coming in the mail every day, furniture moving, the calendar is so full I have no idea what is going on, smoke alarm blaring, CHAOS! I love it. It feels like Viola, the person I fell in love with, the person who can do more with less.

 

What was going on here?

Viola was diagnosed with cancer and so much changed. Her life as I knew it for 25 years stopped. But then, after surgery, as chemo treatments began, something strange happened. My life changed. An opportunity for a new job that ended up changing my career in education became available. Tragedy and happiness can’t mix. I was traveling through parallel universes. At work things could not be going better, but at home, emergency visits scarier than I could ever describe, chemo days, throwing up, up all night, losing her hair, losing her.

 

But now we have joined universes again. Viola tells me, “This is the life I always wanted, I could not be happier.” She takes the words right out of my mouth.

 

~Jon Lev, 2009


0 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Jon Lev”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

