09
Apr
09

Jon

 

Jon (at Stratton Mountain)

Jon (at Stratton Mountain)

 

 

JON

These paintings were all done before I was diagnosed with cancer. The person who was most by my side over the past two years was never allowed to be still long enough for me to do more than a fast sketch in a waiting room. So these paintings are old—In face, one of them is the sixth painting I ever made and the FIRST human I ever painted—Jon. He’s my alpha and my omega. Over the course of treatment I saw a lot of women cope with challenges I never could have imagined. One day the woman I followed in the radiation schedule asked me if that strikingly good looking man that often picked me up was my husband. She said his suspenders reminded her of her own husband who was no longer living. She wished she had her husband to come to radiation with her. I asked her if I could take her picture. And after she left I sat in the dressing room and blubbered and drooled and sobbed out of gratitude for the father of my children, the love of my life, and the guy who still makes me feel that feeling when I see him walk into a room.


0 Responses to “Jon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

