09
Apr
09

Poem: “The Birdhouse”

The Birdhouse

Anna is leaving me again

over and over

Just like I left her so many times

By choice and not by my choice

Teaching me to tolerate longer and longer absences

Stretches of not hearing her voice doing homework with a friend on the phone

Or the sound of popcorn crunching along to a favorite movie

I took her to her first movie when she was eighteen months old

She ate my entire tub of artificially butter flavored popcorn

I felt

Grateful that she didn’t choke,

and awed by her intensity of concentration

She says I love you each time she leaves

And I am trying to photograph her face, her smile

Every time in my mind, afraid of having

so much less to take for granted

I walk outside and I see the birdhouse she made in eighth grade shop class

A father’s day gift for her dad, she looks so much like him

I stare at the birdhouse as a light rain begins to kiss the back of my neck

I am not cold, and I do not feel the wetness of it

I realize that she is forcing me to grow up again,

To accept losing what I want to hang on to

I hate that

That birdhouse sits on the stump

It’s maple stain color intensified by the moisture

And my tears add salt to the raindrops

~Viola Moriarty


0 Responses to “Poem: “The Birdhouse””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

