15
Apr
09

Poem: Turquesa

Turquesa

I wandered out and
bought a turquoise hat
which I wore to dinner
and tasted tikka masala with garlic and cilantro nan
while I studied the paintings of Bonnard.
next I went to the film about Pablo Neruda, el poeta, el chileno
because you had told me that this film existed,
that it would be playing at this time at that place.
I felt fat, dumb and happy-
like my cells and skin were finally waking up
listening to those pan flutes and poetries
savoring sounds and syllables
licking the inside of my mouth and the backs of my teeth
repeating each word in Spanish
knowing that I would never be the same
“paz, pan, flores, y amor” said the filmaker
and I ran away to the beat of the Chilean drum
and to the screams of Andean children dying in the streets
I am turquoise on the inside.

~Viola Moriarty


0 Responses to “Poem: Turquesa”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

