15
Apr
09

Poem: White Curtains

White Curtains

It is Sunday night
And I am not depressed
I feel happy.

I am no longer dying.
I am living.

My blood is red again,
Not brown.

My hips remember
How to move,
Loose and languid.

My ears hear music
And my mouth
Knows how to laugh.

My hands find themselves cooking.

I hear what people tell me,
They ask me how was my day.
Great.

What shift in the stars
or deity
should I be thanking?

My sheets are happy.
The light effuses through
The white Portuguese linen panels
Covering the windows,
Like tropical brides.

The plants all show new growth.
The betta’s tail is growing back.
I thought that I would keep disappearing,
Little by little—
But instead, here I am
Painting my toenails red

And not sad because tomorrow is Monday.

Breathing in and out
Mischievously feeling
Like I have every right to do so.

~Viola Moriarty


0 Responses to “Poem: White Curtains”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

