22
Jun
09

blocks of colour–Opening 12 July at Panda Garden in Manchester

yblocks of colour


t2o2

rbg

exhibition of

mixed media/oil paintings

by

Viola Moriarty

at

Panda Garden

Manchester, Vermont

Opening Reception

Sunday, 12 July 09

3-5 p.m.

After I begain painting, June 6, 2002, within a few days I had a dream where certain dead painters and my very alive nephew were at the easel with me and they all kept saying “just move the blocks of colour around”.  I couldn’t understand, so my nephew finally walked forward and magically took apart the canvas and rearranged the colour shapes, saying “See, just move the blocks of colour around!”  At that moment I understood completely and when I woke up Iwas sure I knew how to make the paintings in the dream! …..That is, until I got to the studio and realized I had no idea how to make them.  I’ve had this dream so many times over the past seven years.  Finally, with a little help from my colorful comrades, the dream is beginning to manifest in my waking life.

This is all new work–a small but exciting collection of nine paintings–one of which is made up of six four by six inch paintings on mdf boards— and the first showing of works completed purely for the sake of studying color and light in a way that answers that recurring dream.  It is the beginning of what will ultimately be several stages of colour study and expression exhibitions over the next years.

This exhibit is dedicated to Renee Bouchard, Deborah Dorfman, Shelli DuBoff, Sharon Yorke,  Craig Clement, and Johann W. V. Goethe, comrades in art, science, poetry and fierce individualism—all of whom are teaching me intensively about mixing color, the way light activates particulate and perceived mass, and about how to be a better student while I’m dreaming and while I’m awake.

paz, pan, flores, y amor

Viola Moriarty


1 Response to “blocks of colour–Opening 12 July at Panda Garden in Manchester”


  1. 1 Emily
    July 16, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    so beautiful and what an inspiration!! I love the colors, warms the persona and heart. have a good show, the food sounds yum and have a cocktail for me.


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

