01
Apr
10

Gevurah shebe Chesed

As lovingkindness transformed into strength in the darkness of the studio last night, I experimented with a micron pen and smooth drawing paper. Focused on what mark to make, what might be essential, these three to six minute drawings above led the way to something completely new.

The drawings below are on 2.5 inch strips of scrap papers from former projects. They called for a new kind of restraint, for staying within the small boundary while I sat for the first time while I drew. This injured knee wrapped in the funny velcro brace kept me into my spot on a chair. My crutches waited on the floor.

Working small and tenderly with the fine point of that lovely brown pen, adding just a little watercolor here and there, unable to move easily from my seat, I drew the body of a woman much older than me, a gorgeous woman with a confidence I wish I had.

Last night I undressed with my full and lovely weight supported by only my already overburdened left foot, looking at my own scarred and scared body in the mirror while I said, “Tonight is the second night of the Omer.”


2 Responses to “Gevurah shebe Chesed”


  1. 1 levhardware
    April 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    i love the small drawings! so beautiful, and full of so much emotion and story and character. they are delicate and sweet, sad and longing-full. great work, mama. and thank you for posting your omer counting on your blog. this way we can all count along with you and be there along the way with your process.

    xoxo
    anna

  2. 2 PHOEBE YOUR DAUGHTER
    April 6, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    really cool drawings, i like the way you did them with simple lines


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

