02
Apr
10

tiferet shebe chesed/netzach shebe chesed—work in progress

Two articles have greatly influenced my overall concept for the Omer project this year: Who Wrote the Book of Physics? by Adam Frank, and Back to the Future by Adam Magyar, both for Discover Magazine, April 2010. How did I read the April issue back in the early days of March? It’s a mystery.

Wandering is the time to question everything we once held to be true: laws, principles, …the underpinnings to the automaticity of our daily navigation. It is the opportunity to find what the sure thing(s) are upon which we can build our new life.

They say human beings cannot remember pain, and that’s why we continue to run marathons, have babies and make the same mistakes again and again. I thought about this today when I received the most painful shot I have ever had in my life: cortizone and novicaine into my knee. It seems impossible I won’t remember.

The subjects of this painting are not pain wimps like me, just the opposite: They are unbelievably strong, physically, psychologically, spiritually and emotionally. They embody lovingkindness and strength within that lovingkindness. And they are so gorgeous to look at that it can take your breath away. Beauty in Lovingkindness. I can never paint them as beautiful as they are.

But even the enduring, the loving and the beautiful must contend with wandering in the unknown and even they must be reduced to tears of despair and deep doubt sometime. The compassion these characters contribute to my life does not come directly from their endurance, strength and beauty,,,,,,but is constructed from the personal experience of stepping out into their journeys into the unknown and the possibly impossible.

The law of uncertainty tells us that we can never be certain where the constantly moving electrons are–as soon as we think we see them, they’ve moved!,,,,,And it reminds us that the very act of self observation, collectively and individually will change us. Seeing and being seen matters profoundly, whether we desire it or not.

Tomorrow I will work more. It is an intuitive process and one that is surprising me daily. I have never worked in quite this fashion before. I feel lost, upended, in disarray…all the things that are the opposite of elegant.

Now, as the sun goes down on my unfinished efforts for the day, I am filled with gratitude for my beautiful friends and heroes in this painting while I say, “Today is the fourth day of the Omer, Netzach shebe chesed, endurance in lovingkindness”.

I add as I work through the night….until I just can’t paint anymore, can’t see or balance on one leg anymore….will work more tomorrow…..


2 Responses to “tiferet shebe chesed/netzach shebe chesed—work in progress”


  1. April 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Dear Artist,

    You strike upon a quizzical notion, the fact that everyone must be brought to tears, and the fact that human beings forget pain. Yet only to be replaced my more pain. Just like breathing. Exhaling memories to make room for more. Then what is to be said of the good, and the elegant? There is no Yang without Yin. Peace must be the inhale for pain to be the exhale.

    Sincerely,
    TKG
    a fellow artist

  2. April 2, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Ahhh, Painter of Clouds, you have a very lovely insight. And I LOVE your apron!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

