11
Apr
10

Gevurah Orchid

The second refrigerator door is of this yellow orchid Jimmy gave me last year at this time.  It is blooming again, and radiantly so!

This painting represents a good deal of learning over the week since completing “Chesed”.   The stainless steel finish is exciting, and I’m learning to work WITH it— it changes the painting depending on who or what surrounds and confronts it, representing the electrons of the Uncertainty Principle.  I learned that it was MUCH better to work with my beloved oils directly onto this surface.  The challenge of yellow flower in yellow pot on yellow table represents the boundaries of gevurah, setting up the challenge in order to grow stronger.  After all, anyone can paint a red flower in a clay pot on a white tablecloth and make it make sense.  But to mix the yellows….to mix all the colors that are really making up that apparently yellow painting, well, that was fun. Gevurah’s associated color is red, but yellow is creativity.

To borrow a phrase from a favorite author, Kay Leigh Hagan, I often feel like “an orchid in the artic” living in New England, having come from sunny Colorado eleven years ago.   My sustenance is remembering my Spanish, my sunshine and my 14,000 foot peaks….but learning to live at 1500 feet, take vitamin D, and love the colors of winter.  Somehow in this exhile I thrive even though the conditions are not the ones I usually require for living.

My true friend and healer, John Hearst, has doing much healing energy work with me since my knee injury….this friendship and this work sustains and repairs me.  I will have to find new ways to exercise, new ways to be strong, and what they will be I don’t have any clue right now.

Last night was the 12th day of the Omer, Hod shebe Gevurah, humility and splendor in strength.

Today I clean the studio, change the beds and clean up from the guests and the friends.  I prepare for this week’s work.

Tonight we count the 13th day of the Omer, Yesod shebe Gevurah, Foundation in strength.


0 Responses to “Gevurah Orchid”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

