08
Sep
10

North Bennington Plein Air Invitational

Today the North Bennington Plein Air Invitational opened, with registration from 3-5 and me showing up about 4.  While the other participants took a horse drawn buggy ride around North B, I decided to get my ass to work.  It was grey and cloudy and I didn’t know how long I might have before it rained.  It never rained and I had two lovely hours at Lake Paran before I would head to Erev Rosh Hashana services. Jon snapped the photo as I began to set up (before he left me there).

I spent most of my two hours on the little tree in front of the lake, and about the last 25 minutes—as the sky began to clear a little—on the trees on the other side of the lake.

I’ve decided to do half the time (Wed-Thurs) in oils, and the other half (Fri-Sat) in pen and Inks.  I’m working only on 12′ x 12″ square boards for the oils and the same size Canson heavy watercolor paper for the pen/inks.

Tonight, after services, I gessoed several more boards and got myself ready for the morning.

I plan to work at Park McCullough tomorrow, and then at the train station on Fri.  Saturday morning I may try to do the Henry bridge.  But who knows?  Since I don’t drive I will be dropped off by my handsome husband (aka, “the crew”) at 7 a.m. and stay for about 12 hours in the area.  So I’ll need my trusty “townie” cart that I can shlep all my stuff from place to place.

The most important goals I have for myself in this competition are:  1) to stand among my fellow landscape painters and relish the experience, 2) by the time the competition ends, to have found a bit more of myself as a landscape painter today.  I am studying landscapes by my favorite painters and identifying what I want my paintings to do.  Today’s work was a respectable beginning, but more subdued and timid than I’d like my efforts tomorrow to be.  3) to discover whether entering other Plein Air painting competitions might be something I’d like to do.  Seems like a fun way to paint and experience the beautiful landscapes around the country.  By the end of this competition, I’d like to have my framing method and some other logistical details a little more solid.

I am now very, very tired.  Before I retire, I just want to wish my favorite birthday present and sweet baby daughter a happy birthday (she’s 23!)

Happy Birthday, Phoebe!  Hope you are having fun in Colorado!!!!  I love you more than painting!!!


0 Responses to “North Bennington Plein Air Invitational”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

