23
Feb
11

Jon’s Wedding Shoes

oil on board, 16″ x 24″, 2011

My husband, Jon, married me in these shoes,,,,August 19, 1984.


2 Responses to “Jon’s Wedding Shoes”


  1. March 18, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Vi–this one was really worth the struggle! Isn’t it great how it came out in the end?

  2. March 18, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Yes, Jaye,,,,,this was COMPLETELY worth the —how many hours? Maybe 30 altogether? That is the most time I’ve ever spent on a painting ever. And it’s your instruction, which I’ve been writing about from time to time, that made me do it…so it’s to your credit as a teacher and an artist who is willing to share her skills. Whenever someone sees any of the “new” still lifes that I have done under your instruction, they are surprised they are mine…..and like I said when I finished the painting—I think we both should sign my work these days!

    I think that your instruction (and those damned smaller brushes!), combined with Jonathan’s recommendation to use both my hands, which ultimately resulted in painting left handed (the numbness in my right bothers me much less now that I am working left and my Dr thinks there’s a connection to my latest “break through” as a result), and having Anna home these days have all made me work differently. THe painting these days is quieter,,,,where it was once a highly gross motor, very boldly physical activity for me. Today painting is feeling like something in me that relates more to my nine year old self…..Hard to explain. BUt all I can say is thank you for being such a good teacher. I have been so lucky to have good friends and mentors along the way. But if it weren’t for your leading me through a new doorway, I don’t know if I could have kept painting during the recent bouts of pneumonia and limited mobility. You gave–and are giving— me a new way of seeing and of working. Though the last lesson of working with a pencil was really challenging for me, it was hugely informative after doing the wedding shoes painting.

    It was very funny that after this painting was finished I got my New Yorker and it had Hockney’s painting of shoes on the cover! I laughed, remembering you sighing, “Everybody wants to paint shoes!”

    Next still life: My cowgirl boots!


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

