03
Mar
11

Reduction prints–Self Portraits in process

I haven’t done a self portrait since I was receiving chemotherapy treatments in 2007…so I made up for it today when I began an experiment: 34 (well, thirty, I’ve already lost four in the process) reduction print experiments. I’ve never done this before, but have been looking at reduction prints by Picasso where he uses one block, reducing it after each print of between 3-6 colors, finishing with some pretty damn exquisite work. So, I spent the whole day and after the third and fourth colors my lino block broke in half, but I continued on. I have the remnants —determined to use only ONE block– and tomorrow I intend to finish. The papers are things I had around, everything from gently colored pastel papers to hot and cold press watercolor paper, sketchbook paper and vellum. THe inks were a gift from my printmaking friend Sarah, and I don’t know enough about them yet to say much other than this: I love how they feel under the brayer and working with adding the caramel colored one to the colored ones…so much different than the little tubes of toothpasty consistency I had once purchased and never used. This is fun, and intense. At this point I can work on each one, experimenting on what can work,,,As a painter, I never have more than the one piece I’m working on, so this is really interesting. If I get one or two I like by the time I’m finished, I’ll be more than satisfied.


0 Responses to “Reduction prints–Self Portraits in process”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

