13
Apr
11

Mill House….first view

Mill House, back view, bridge and stone table, sunny morning version, April 2011

Mill house, veiw #1, Sunny Morning version, oil on board, 12″ x 16″, 2011

I think I’ve spent between 15-20 hours on site working on this one, and I still am unsure if it’s finished, but the truth is that by the time I get back there in a week, everything will have changed, so I’m calling this one good.  I have a cloudy version I’m trying to also finish, but the weather has gotten nice so quickly…that end of winter feel is gone.  I love these transitional seasons.  It is my favorite time to paint the landscape, to get to know what’s underneath these trees and see the way things emerge in the spring, and fade away in the fall.  I can’t explain what it is that captivates me, but sitting at the mill house by the full stream, listening to the rushing water with my paints and my hot coffee….I can pass so many hours there….So I have about five different paintings going there now,  two Sunny mornings, sunny midday, cloudy day, sunny afternoon….I’m working quickly, but landscape is hard for me, and lately everything just takes me longer than it used to.  In most jobs the more you do something the faster you get at it, but in this work the better I get the longer it takes me. Hmmm….I’ll have to think about that.

At the end of last Wednesday my friend that paints with me there sometimes, explained something to me about the shadows on ground that lit up my understanding….I realized that all this time I’ve been painting things in the landscape in an unrelated way…not relating them to the ground they are on..the shadows were the most obvious.  So, I hope in this final (?) version I’ve got a clearer understanding and expression of that relationship.  And of my relationship to this place that is emerging with each painting visit.

Thank you to my friend, Kathy, for allowing me the run of the place.  My time at your home is a precious gift.


0 Responses to “Mill House….first view”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

