04
May
11

My Cowgirl Boots

My Cowgirl Boots, oil on birchwood veneer board, 16″ x 24.5″, 2011.

If you know me at all, you know that my most prized possession is my cowgirl boots.  About  a year ago, I gave my turquoise pair–which I wore forever and everywhere—to my daughter Phoebe, who is wearing those boots all over the Oregon coast and South America these days.  Joyce and I went out and bought these for me.  When I wear my boots I feel like nothing bad can happen to me.  Like I’m still the kick-ass urban cowgirl I once was…..just with lower heels and shorter hair these days.   I’ve  finally taken ’em off long enough to honor them in paint.

This is the final piece for the Bennington Museum show this Saturday (Not the first time I’ve exhibited something while it dries! ).  I hope to see you there on Saturday for a celebration of almost nine years of painting.


2 Responses to “My Cowgirl Boots”


  1. 1 Lesley
    May 4, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Awesome Vi!!! I remember the turquoise pair also 🙂 Have a wonderful time this Saturday!! Love Lesley

  2. 2 levhardware
    May 4, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    love this painting. i think it is my new favorite still life you have done. you are so amazing! so excited for the opening on saturday!

    love,
    anna


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

