27
Mar
12

Art Teachers and Mentors

Every morning I study one of my art books with my breakfast, hoping to channel the energy of that heavyweight artist into my work for the day.  Most of the artists are no longer living, and therefore unavailable for actual chat about my questions.  So I search the books, and when I can get to the living paintings by them, I do. Right now Morandi and the Metropolitan Seminars in Art, Portfolio 3 are on my table. This kind of study, besides my favorite– working constantly from nature/life— is a great teacher.

Luckily I also  have and have had some great living teachers/mentors and I thought today I’d give some recommendations in case you are åble to take a class from them at any point.

Stella Ehrich, Jaye Fox, Renee Bouchard, Steve Levin, Sarah Pike, Reza Pike, David Lane, Paul Katz, Anima Katz, Julia Morgan-Leamon, Brian Sweetland, and Ann Kremers are folks I’ve been lucky to learn formally (and informally) with so far.  Check out their various websites and work, and if you’re in the area—see if you can get into a workshop or class.  You won’t regreat it.


1 Response to “Art Teachers and Mentors”


  1. March 30, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    you’re my art mentor. and hero.


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

