07
Jun
12

10 years

I missed my own painting anniversary:  6 June 2002 was the first time I ever held a paintbrush or put oil paint to canvas.  I had gone out at the suggestion of my friend, Stella,  and on that day I knew a door had been opened for me,  and that  I’d change my life in whatever ways it took to walk through it.   Painting made me feel like me, like I was made for this.  All my liabilities became assests, and  my sensitivities and oddities became useful.  From the first day, if my paintings lacked skill  the thing they never lacked was life or honesty.  And that is still true.

Instead of celebrating my 10th anniversary of the first time I ever held a brush to canvas, yesterday I lied here and slept on and off,  recuperating from the stereotatic radiosurgery from the day before, medicated and drinking egg creams sometimes half-dreaming about what I will work on when I get my ass out of this bed (finish espresso lino-cut reduction prints, work on painting of Anna, get back out to plein air work, get back to life drawing.   My daughter Anna and my friend Mari took turns staying near me while I slept the day away til Jon came home.

My life as an artist is about all the days of my life, about my current  identity in this world, and–with or without my permission– it pervades all the other things I do or don’t do.  Even my druggy sleep, even during the radiation—I am painting even when I am not painting.

 


1 Response to “10 years”


  1. 1 Jon Lev
    June 13, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    It may not have been the best way that you wanted to celebrate or mark your 10 year anniversary, but you have come a long way and are a great artist and what you went through last week will allow you to continue your constant learning and creating beautiful work that is very treasured by many who are lucky enough to experience your art.


Leave a Reply

viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.

