24
Mar
11

landscape works in progress, life drawing group oil sketches (nudes)

One of my goals with the blog is for it to be not only an open diary of finished works, but also to be more a place to record process….to reflect on work not only when it is finished, but while it is happening—and to be able to look back at stages of a painting.

Landscape at Kathy L’s place in progress- I have committed to working on this site for a year…getting to know the place in each season and transition through painting and sketching. I hope to continue this painting tomorrow. It is exhilirating to paint outside all day in this way. I feel like myself.

Chester Knoll painting in progress–I love this little view out my backyard. But here it is not only love for these little colored houses of ours, it is putting them behind the mass of trees so I can sort out those trees and choose a few to know well and represent. Organizing landscape right now is very much on my mind. The transitional season, while the trees are still skeletal and the light is particular to this brief time and I can still see out, is important to me. I want to get as much done as possible before the trees fill in.

6, 10, and 20 minute sketches in oil from drawing group last night–What a relief to move to the figure with my oils after working outside all day. But my results do not express what I would like. Still, a night painting the model is always a good night painting, and these sketches– will inform the next ones.


0 Responses to “landscape works in progress, life drawing group oil sketches (nudes)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


viola moriarty

(American, b. 1958)
Modern Expressionist Painter
2012-13 Recipient of the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant

Upcoming Exhibitions

Current and ongoing: New Works, Allegro Ristorante in Bennington on Main Street.

Elm Street Market, Bennington

Spiral Press Cafe, Manchester, Vermont (2013) details TBA

Please click this link to see review of this blog: http://citiesofthemind.org/blogr-violamoriart/

Blog Archives

Recent Comments

All content © Viola Moriarty unless otherwise noted.